Two interesting points!

Here are my two interesting points before going on placement. I really enjoyed reading previous students thoughts.

In one of my classes I used a video and the video took 10 minutes to load. I wish that I had known to get all of my ICTs ready at the start of the lesson so that it will be ready for when I need to use it.

I think this point is a very valid point. Sometimes we forget to think of the little simple things, we get so caught up in making sure we are covering the content and if the activities will be engaging that we forget to check that the ICT work or to get it ready before the lesson. Thanks for the reminder!

Making sure that students have the prior knowledge on how to use the particular ICT you have chosen for the lesson.

Here is a point that is very useful to know or think about before going on placement and integrating all these whiz bang ICT resources. You need to first look at what the students know. Do they have access to computers generally? I read previously that another person experienced children who had lack of ICT abilities due to being in a low socio-economic area. I too will be attending a school in this context and need to think about the children’s capabilities before planning the lesson.

Thanks for sharing these points David and it has really given me a head start.

Leave a comment